Hello Everybody! Something almost happened…

Sorry 😐 not me

So one day I tweeted ‘Something almost happened this morning…’

A few of my friends replied asking to be supplied with full gist. I guess I wanted the gist to mature kind of and I wasn’t sure if I was vulnerable enough so I didn’t share.

My friends who asked for gist were guys 👀

So the gist is more mature now and it is a matter that you will have to judge. Father, help me to gist this gist in a way that I give room for my readers to judge the matter well.

So I have a male friend that we were classmates in Uni for the purpose of this gist he is Anonymous but we will shorten it to ‘Anony’ cool? 😎😉

Anony and I reunited 2017 like six years after Uni on my way to work one fine morning and he almost gave me an account to manage save for the fact that our fees were beyond their budget. We kept in touch though with one or two visits at our places…it was obvious he liked me, but I wasn’t feeling it and didn’t want to encourage any romance. Then about a year from then, he asked me to be his girlfriend and I told him the feeling wasn’t mutual at least not at that moment, but we could keep being friends who knows if things would change.

Towards the last quarter of 2019 I started thinking, at least Anony wasn’t a bad person at all…I could try being nicer to him and giving him a chance, because he seemed like a gentle person, presently rough diamond that would turn out to be enviable in the end. I could start encouraging him. So I did.

We got another opportunity to pitch for a sister brand to his, thanks to him, but we didn’t even go through with it at the time so we let it slide. Afterwards, another moment of silence between Anony and I. Coincidentally, a romance happened to me that I thought was ‘the one’, but it was a bad romance o 👀

Fast forward to 2020, bad romance had eventually ended in tears by Valentine’s and I was actually fed up of the cycles and was like ‘everybody dey your dey make I dey my dey’. I wanted to recuperate, set my life straight. I decided to stop compromising and focus on the focus I had abandoned for years.

Anony begins popping up again and I keep feeling like ‘ah! This guy has been on queue since lemme not be wicked and close shop’. Okada ban happened and I remembered Anony didn’t want to get a car, because Okada paid him better than being stuck in regular Lagos shenanigans that can make you lose your integrity. So I called him and between our convo, I chipped in that he would be considering getting a car with the current sirruation and he affirmed that he had just bought a car that day. I was happy for him truly. He mentioned he needed to perfect driving classes…get some papers and so on before he’d be able to visit me with it. Cool! 😎

Almost a week before lockdown was announced. I was sick and alone, I was treating malaria. I wanted to go to the hospital because I vomited…couldn’t eat or make food. I told Anony and he arranged ogi from his side, came to prepare it at mine and left. I went to the pharmacy and was prescribed something that treated the extra wahala.

Now that I was better…Anony was beginning to push ideas like me cooking for him…he would say he is coming to eat at my place whether or not I said I cooked, be picky about what he wants to eat and say I should follow him to his place to cook. Or say he has gotten ingredients for a particular meal, he is picking me up to cook at his place…this was always in the evening.

I wasn’t comfortable with this. Definitely not this mindset…why the assumptions and whatever was making him start making those demands? Or am I just being unnecessarily difficult because I didn’t hesitate to turn him down. 😒

Anony wasn’t discouraged…lockdown was announced and he proposed that we ‘lockdown’ together…What?!

To be continued…

Drop a thought